Wagga City Golf Report



The final two rounds of the Club Championships were completed over the weekend, and as expected, it was a battle between 1-marker, Mick Hazell, and 4-marker, Kyle Harrison, with Mick finally claiming the trophy on the second play-off hole after the pair tied with their four-round totals of 310. Well done also to Peter Treharne, who collected the A Grade h/cap prize, and to runner-up, Warren Lynch. In B Grade, Peter Biscaya won the scratch prize, from Keith Bevan, while h/cap honours went to Eddie Wall, from John Messing. Eric Hunt took care of the C Grade scratch, with John Hazell claiming second spot. C Grade h/cap honours went to Ken Read, from Frank Veliscek. Finally, the winner of the Gold Medal was Roman Adamcewicz, while Senior and Junior Champions were Andy White and Josh Conlan respectively. Thanks also to the Pro Shop staff, who made sure the event ran smoothly, and to the green keeping staff, supported by the hard-working volunteer vets, who have put plenty into getting the course back on track.

Speaking of vets, it was Keith Withers’ turn for a win last Monday when he collected the main voucher in their nine-hole stroke comp with a handy score of 31 nett, a shot clear of Peter Kirkman, Mick Tilden and Grahame Winson. Thursday’s event saw Ken Batt also score 31 nett to win from Don Thorne and Tony Thompson on 32, and Hedley Chapman, 33 nett.

The ladies held their Closing Day last Tuesday, when the club welcomed visitors from around the District, including The Rock, Leeton, Howlong and the Wagga Country Club, to compete in a Canadian Foursomes event. Div 1 scratch winners on the day were Bev and Kim Robinson, from runners-up

Di Tyrell-Miller and Sue Harris. While h/cap honours went to Narelle Jones and Peta Carter, from Fay Baker and Lyn Donohoe. In Div 2, Erica Coghlan and Kerrie Smith combined for a win, from Marg Bradley and Val Brunskill. Lyn Blake and Carol McGrath collected the Div 2 h/cap winners’ prizes, from Carmel Adamcewicz and Fay Robertson. NTP’s went to Lorraine Hickey, Carmel Adamcewicz and Nancy Petrie from Leeton, who made her trip over very much worthwhile with a terrific hole-in-one on the 18th !

Last Wednesday’s members’ stableford saw John Dare fire up for 42 pts to win A Grade, from Bob McKenzie 38 and Andy White 37, while in B Grade, Col Randall also scored 42 pts to get home on a c/b from Mick De Vries, with John Mooney third on 41 pts. NTP’s to Peter Barnes on the 9th, and Roman Adamcewicz on both the 13th and 18th.  Ball comp to 36 pts